Seminars

Seminars and Events 2010

Events

 

Public Seminar - Monday 25 October 2010, 12.30pm Location 20.1

Distinuished Professor Noel Cressie

Program in Spatial Statistics and Enironmental Statistics, The Ohio State Universtiy

Title: Statistical Science: A Tale of Two Unknowns (Abstract)

 

Seminars

 

Date Presenter Topic
Wednesday 10 March, 3.30 - 4.30, Room 15.113 Assistant Professor Jarek Harezlak, University of Indiana Joint Modeling of functional SELDI-TOF mass spectrometry proteomic data and disease risk
Wednesday 31 March, 3.30-4.30, Room 4.G31 Dr Yanan Fan, University of New South Wales Adaptive Optimal Scaling of Metropolis-Hastings Algorithms
Wednesday 14 April, 3.30 - 4.30, Room 19.2103 Professor Alan Welsh,
The Australian National University
Recent Reflections on Extra Zeros in Count Data
Wednesday 28 April, 3.30-4.30, Room 19.2103 Professor Salim Bouzerdoum,
University of Wollongong
Compressive Sensing and its Application in Visual Pattern Recognition
Wednesday 5 May, 3.30-4.30, Room 19.2103 Professor Bruce Brown,
University of New South Wales
Aligning penalty function methods
Wednesday 12 May, 3.30-4.30, Room 19.2103 Professor Barry Quinn,
Macquarie University
Estimating the mode of a unimodal “symmetric” distribution on a circle, with extensions to frequency estimation
Wednesday 19 May, 3.30 - 4.30, Room 19.2103 A/Professor Eric Beh,
The University of Newcastle
Sample graphical and numerical summaries for contingency tables
Wednesday 2 June, 3.30-4.30, Room 19.2103 Jeffrey Goldsmith,
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg, School of Public Health, Baltimore
Penalized Functional Regression
Wednesday 28 July, 3.30-4.30, Room 15.113 Dr Peter Siminski, University of Wollongong Long-Run Employment Effects of Serving in the Vietnam War: Evidence from 16 Australian Conscription Lotteries
Wednesday 4 August, 3.30-4.30, Room 15.113 Professor David Steel, University of Wollongong The Excellence in Research for Australian (ERA) process and its implications
Wednesday 11 August, 3.30-4.30, Room 15.113 Dr Thomas Suesse, University of Wollongong A Marginal Modeling Approach for Curved Exponential Random Graph Models
Wednesday 18 August, 3.30-4.30, Room 15.113 Dr James Brown, University of Southampton Using M-quantile models as an alternative to random effects to model the contextual value-added of schools in London
Wednesday 25 August, 3.30 -4.30, Room 15.113 Dr Tung Pham, University of Wollongong Improvement to some linear classifiers for high dimensional low sample size data
Wednesday 1 September, 3.30-4.30, Room 1.G04 Dr David Warton, University of New South Wales Unifying methods for species distribution modelling using presence-only data in ecology
Wednesday 8 September, 3.30-4.30, Room 1.G04 Professor Rob Hyndman, Monash University Demographic forecasting using functional data models
Wednesday 15 September, 3.30-4.30, Room 1.G04 Dr Mayukh Samanta, Australian National University Reconstruction of Wind-Generated Wave Height Fields from Light Transmission Data
Wednesday 22 September, 3.30-4.30, Room 1.GO4 A/Professor Stephane Heritier, The George Institute for Global Health On robust testing in the Cox model
Wednesday 6 October, 3.30 - 4.30, Room 1.G04 Professor John Geweke, University of Technology Sydney Improving Asset Price Prediction when All Models are False
Wednesday 20 October, 3.30 - 4.30, Room 15.113 Dr Simon Barry, CSIRO Describing complex processes
Wednesday 27 October, 3.30 - 4.30, Room 15.113 Dr Emlyn Williams, The Australian National University Modern Experimental Design - Some developments and applications
Wednesday 3 November, 3.30 - 4.30 Room 15.113 Prof. Andreas Ruckstuhl, Zurich University of Applied Sciences, Switzerland Modelling of air quality affected by traffic emission considering meteorological situations
Wednesday 24 November, 3.30- 4.30, Room 15.113 Prof. David Balding, University College London Fine mapping of causal HLA variants using penalised regression

 

 

BACK to seminar page

Last reviewed: 5 August, 2013

Upcoming Events

The Questionnaire Revealed, Dr. Pamela Campanelli
1 - 3 November 2017

Past Events

International Conference on Robust Statistics, July 2017